Mpox (monkeypox) in Mozambique: 2026 cases and outbreak reports
Reported mpox (monkeypox) surveillance for Mozambique (MOZ)
—
— latest record 2026-10-07
What the 2026 data shows
The latest report for Mozambique gives an outbreak total of 93 mpox (monkeypox) cases to date. That is a running total since the outbreak began, not a count for 2026. No 2025 figure has been reported.
ENCLAI has logged 6 surveillance records for mpox (monkeypox) in Mozambique in 2026, with the most detailed reporting in Oct 2026 (6 records); the case counts run to 2026-01-04. 2 distinct surveillance sources reported this pair in 2026.
Reporting authorities for these counts: WHO AFRO Weekly Bulletin — cumulative suspected cases · WHO AFRO Weekly Bulletin on Outbreaks and Other Emergencies
Key facts: Mpox (monkeypox)
Transmission
Close contact
Skin-to-skin (including sex), mouth-to-mouth or mouth-to-skin; contaminated linen; mother to child; animal bites or handling.WHO 2024
Incubation
≈ 1 week
Range 1–21 days after exposure.WHO 2024
Vaccine
Yes — high-risk groups
Pre-exposure for health workers, household contacts, people with multiple partners and sex workers; post-exposure within 4 days of contact, up to 14 if symptom-free.WHO 2024
Cited reference facts about the disease, not derived from the surveillance counts on this page. Full set on the Mpox (monkeypox) page.
The daily disease brief
One email a day: what changed in official disease reporting worldwide, with the
source named for every number. Reported facts only — no forecasts and no
interpretation.
Double opt-in — we send a confirmation link and nothing else until you click it.
One-click unsubscribe on every email. See our privacy notice.
Surveillance summary
2026 cases (YTD)
93 (outbreak total to date)
2025 cases (full year)
not reported
Baseline avg (3yr)
N/A
Trend (2025)
—
No 2025 figure
Reported cases by year, Mozambique
Year
Reported cases
Share of worldwide reports
2023
not reported
—
2024
not reported
—
2025
not reported
—
2026 (year to date)
93 (outbreak total to date)
—
Reporting bounds and case definitions vary; historical baselines are a separate comparison measure. Worldwide share compares this country's reported figure with the sum of all countries reporting mpox (monkeypox) to ENCLAI for that year. "Incomplete year" means our sources cover less than ten months of that year, so no full-year figure is shown; "outbreak total to date" is a running total since an outbreak began, not a count for one year.
Surveillance records logged in 2026
Month
Records
Reporting sources
Oct 2026
6
2
A record is one dated surveillance publication or one row of an official table; a month with many records is a month with detailed reporting, not necessarily more cases.
How many mpox (monkeypox) cases has Mozambique reported in 2026?
The latest report for Mozambique gives an outbreak total of 93 mpox (monkeypox) cases to date. That is a running total since the outbreak began, not a count for 2026. No 2025 figure has been reported.
Where does Mozambique publish mpox (monkeypox) surveillance data?
The counts on this page were published by WHO AFRO Weekly Bulletin — cumulative suspected cases and WHO AFRO Weekly Bulletin on Outbreaks and Other Emergencies. ENCLAI compiles and normalises them and is not affiliated with these authorities.
About this data
Figures are reported case counts as published by the originating health authorities, compiled by ENCLAI from 444 verified surveillance sources. Mozambique figures reflect the reporting available to ENCLAI; reporting periods and case definitions differ between sources, and a missing report does not establish zero cases.
ENCLAI holds mpox (monkeypox) records for Mozambique dated from 2026.
How we verify and update data: methodology & Trust Center · understanding case counts.
One email a day: what changed in official disease reporting worldwide, with the
source named for every number. Reported facts only — no forecasts and no
interpretation.
Double opt-in — we send a confirmation link and nothing else until you click it.
One-click unsubscribe on every email. See our privacy notice.