Compiled by the ENCLAI research team following a documented methodology · Editorial oversight: Dr Natalya Mathur, Founder · Data last updated: (UTC)

E. coli infection in United Kingdom: 2026 cases and outbreak reports

Reported e. coli infection surveillance for United Kingdom (GBR) — — latest record 2026-07-29

What the 2026 data shows

As of 27 July 2026, the United Kingdom has reported 26,802 E. coli infection cases in 2026, as published by UKHSA Dashboard API. Our data cover only part of 2025, so no full-year 2025 figure is shown.

Of the 4 countries reporting e. coli infection to ENCLAI in 2026, United Kingdom accounts for 92.0% of reported cases and ranks 1 by case count.

ENCLAI has logged 71 surveillance records for e. coli infection in United Kingdom in 2026, with the most detailed reporting in Jun 2026 (20 records); the case counts run to 2026-07-27. 2 distinct surveillance sources reported this pair in 2026.

Reporting authorities for these counts: UKHSA Dashboard API — Regional Surveillance (England)

The daily disease brief

One email a day: what changed in official disease reporting worldwide, with the source named for every number. Reported facts only — no forecasts and no interpretation.

Double opt-in — we send a confirmation link and nothing else until you click it. One-click unsubscribe on every email. See our privacy notice.

Surveillance summary

2026 cases (YTD)
26,802
2025 cases (full year)
incomplete year
Baseline avg (3yr)
N/A
Trend (2025)
—
2025 only partly covered

Reported cases by year, United Kingdom

YearReported casesShare of worldwide reports
2023 not reported —
2024 not reported —
2025 incomplete year —
2026 (year to date) 26,802 92.0%

Reporting bounds and case definitions vary; historical baselines are a separate comparison measure. Worldwide share compares this country's reported figure with the sum of all countries reporting e. coli infection to ENCLAI for that year. "Incomplete year" means our sources cover less than ten months of that year, so no full-year figure is shown; "outbreak total to date" is a running total since an outbreak began, not a count for one year.

Surveillance records logged in 2026

MonthRecordsReporting sources
Jan 2026101
Feb 2026101
Mar 2026101
Apr 2026101
Jun 2026201
Jul 2026112

A record is one dated surveillance publication or one row of an official table; a month with many records is a month with detailed reporting, not necessarily more cases.

Sub-national reporting, 2026

Areas within United Kingdom with the most e. coli infection records this year:

AreaRecords
East Midlands7
East of England7
London7
North East7
North West7

E. coli infection in other countries, 2026

Country2026 casesTrend
Finland 2,089 ▲ Rising · 2025
Poland 200
Bulgaria 48

Other diseases reported in United Kingdom, 2026

Disease2026 casesTrend
Clostridioides difficile colitis 10,175
Staphylococcus aureus bacteraemia 8,787
Klebsiella pneumoniae infection 8,353
COVID-19 6,427
Pseudomonas aeruginosa infection 2,653

Questions about this page

How many E. coli infection cases has United Kingdom reported in 2026?
As of 27 July 2026, the United Kingdom has reported 26,802 E. coli infection cases in 2026, as published by UKHSA Dashboard API. Our data cover only part of 2025, so no full-year 2025 figure is shown.
Where does United Kingdom publish E. coli infection surveillance data?
The counts on this page were published by UKHSA Dashboard API — Regional Surveillance (England). ENCLAI compiles and normalises them and is not affiliated with these authorities.

About this data

Figures are reported case counts as published by the originating health authorities, compiled by ENCLAI from 444 verified surveillance sources. United Kingdom figures reflect the reporting available to ENCLAI; reporting periods and case definitions differ between sources, and a missing report does not establish zero cases. ENCLAI holds e. coli infection records for United Kingdom dated from 2025. How we verify and update data: methodology & Trust Center · understanding case counts.

Track e. coli infection in United Kingdom live — alerts, exports and sub-national drill-down: start a 7-day free trial or request a demo.

The daily disease brief

One email a day: what changed in official disease reporting worldwide, with the source named for every number. Reported facts only — no forecasts and no interpretation.

Double opt-in — we send a confirmation link and nothing else until you click it. One-click unsubscribe on every email. See our privacy notice.